10 Things My Parents Were Right About

Standard

As a child and teenager, I never wanted to take my parents’ advice. They were old, outdated and I knew better! But whether I would like to admit it or not, it turns out there were right about several things…

 

  1. Save for a rainy day. One day it is not only going to rain, it is going to pour.
  2. Just buy the next size up. This was one of my mom’s favorites. No one can see the tag inside your pants, but everyone can see where the seams are pulling.
  3. Write thank you notes. It shows a lack of appreciation if you do not. Plus, it’s just plain rude.
  4. Brick walls are there for a reason. This is one of my dad’s classics. He fed me this line every chance he got – when I got frustrated with a teacher, struggled with my softball swing, got turned down from a job, etc… Turns out those brick walls built a lot of character.
  5. Never smoke a cigarette. It is not very becoming. Plus, they give you cancer.
  6. Guys come and go, but your girlfriends will be there forever. Because when you breakup with “Mr. Wrong,” you’re going to want someone to show up at your door with a bottle of wine, a pint of ice cream and a good chick flick.
  7. Don’t gossip. You will get caught. I cannot tell you how many times I have been whispering about someone and they are lurking right around the corner. If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say it at all.
  8. Trust your gut. I read somewhere recently that gut instincts are mental shortcuts used to make a snap judgment based on experience and environment. Aka, if you get bad vibes from someone, it’s most likely because you’re noticing similar patterns between them and someone else who mistreated you.
  9. Always check over your work. I can’t tell you how many times I made a stupid addition error on a math test, or made a spelling error in a job application. It all could have been eliminated if I had taken 5 minutes to check my work.
  10. Have faith, because at the end of the day, everything will work out as it is meant to be.

 

What is the best advice your parents have ever given you?

 

Leave a Reply

